Skip to main content

Events entdecken

Loading Events

« All Events

Shades and Half Lights

Musik für Bratsche und Percussion

Date:
16 June

Berlin

Event Category:
Photo courtesy

Photo courtesy

Nathan Sherman (Bratsche) und Alex Petcu (Percussion) präsentieren ein dynamisches Programm mit Auftragskompositionen und bereits existierenden Werken für Bratsche und Schlagzeug der CMC-Komponist*innen Ed Bennett, Áine Mallon und Ian Wilson sowie Werke internationaler Zeitgenoss*innen.

Der in Amerika geborene Bratschist Nathan Sherman lebt seit 1999 in Dublin und genießt die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen abenteuerlustigen Musiker*innen. Seine Neugier und sein Eklektizismus ermöglichen es ihm, Werke von Schütz und Purcell bis hin zu Experimenten mit Heavy Metal und Aquarien zu präsentieren. Nathan ist ein unermüdlicher Auftraggeber und seine “souveränen und sicheren” Auftritte (Journal of Music) haben ihn um die ganze Welt gebracht.

Als Gründungsmitglied und künstlerischer Leiter der renommierten Kammermusikgruppe Ficino Ensemble spielt Nathan eine Vielzahl von Musik und hat zwei Alben veröffentlicht. Folk Songs enthält Werke von Luciano Berio und wurde als “bezaubernde Neuinterpretationen der irischen Kammermusikgruppe” (Guardian) beschrieben. Das Album wurde vom Guardian in die Top 10 des Jahres 2022 und in die Bestenliste der zeitgenössischen Klassik auf Bandcamp aufgenommen. Die Gruppe schafft auch neue Möglichkeiten für jüngere Komponist*innen durch ihre jährliche Workshop-Reihe.

Der aus Irland stammende Musiker rumänischer Herkunft Alex Petcu etablierte sich sowohl national als auch international schnell als Perkussionist ersten Ranges. Sein Debütalbum Alex Petcu: In Time, das auf dem Label des irischen Rundfunksenders RTE lyric fm erschienen ist, enthält sowohl wegweisende Werke als auch neue Beiträge zum Percussion-Repertoire.

Alex Petcu tritt in den verschiedensten Besetzungen mit einer Vielzahl von Orchestern, Ensembles und Gruppen auf. Sein Hauptaugenmerk liegt jedoch auf Solo- und Kammermusik. Als Solist trat er in letzter Zeit u. a. beim West Cork Chamber Music Festival, im Kilruddery House und in der National Concert Hall auf, um nur einige zu nennen. Er ist als Solist sowohl mit dem RTE-Orchester als auch mit dem Irish Chamber Orchestra aufgetreten und hatte Erfolge bei wichtigen nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerben wie dem Irish Freemasons Young Musician of the Year, Tromp und A.R.D. International.

Eventlocation

Hosek Contemporary
Fischerinsel
10179 Berlin

Ticket- oder Event-Webseite

Skip to main content

Discover the Events

Loading Events

« All Events

Shades and Half Lights

Music for viola and percussion.

Date:
16 June

Berlin

Event Category:
Photo courtesy Alex Petcu and Nathan Sherman

Photo courtesy Alex Petcu and Nathan Sherman

Nathan Sherman (viola) and Alex Petcu (percussion) present a dynamic programme of commissioned and existing works for viola and percussion by CMC (Contemporary Music Centre, Ireland) composers Ed Bennett, Áine Mallon and Ian Wilson alongside works by international contemporaries.

America- born violist Nathan Sherman has been based in Dublin since 1999 and enjoys a career collaborating with other adventurous musicians. His curiosity and eclecticism allows him to present work ranging from Schütz and Purcell, to experimenting with heavy metal and aquariums. Nathan is a tireless commissioner and his “commanding and assured” performances (Journal of Music) have brought him around the world.

As founding member and artistic director of the acclaimed chamber group Ficino Ensemble, Nathan performs a vast amount of music and has released two albums. Folk songs included works by Luciano Berio and was described as “bewitching new interpretations by the Irish chamber group” (Guardian). The album was included in the Guardian’s Top 10 of 2022 and best of Bandcamp’s contemporary classical. The group also enjoy creating opportunities for younger composers through their yearly workshop series.

An Irish musician of Romanian origin, Alex Petcu is quickly establishing himself both nationally and internationally as a percussionist of the finest calibre. His debut album, Alex Petcu: In Time, released on the Irish national broadcaster RTÉ  Lyric FM label, showcases both seminal works and new contributions to the percussion repertoire.

Alex performs in a wide variety of settings with a multitude of orchestras, ensembles and groups, however, his main specialty lies in solo and chamber music. As a soloist, recent appearances include performances at the West Cork Chamber Music Festival, Kilruddery House and the National Concert Hall, to name a few. He has performed as a soloist with both RTÉ  orchestras and the Irish Chamber Orchestra, and had successes in major national and international competitions such as the Irish Freemasons Young Musician of the Year, Tromp and A.R.D. International competitions.

Venue

Hosek Contemporary
Fischerinsel
10179 Berlin

Ticket or event website