Skip to main content

Events entdecken

Loading Events

« All Events

A Postcard From The Homeland

A Postcard from the Homeland ist eine bahnbrechende Ausstellung, die eine zeitgenössische Perspektive auf die irische Kultur durch die Linse des Fotografen Enda Burke bietet.

9 May - 15 May

Berlin

Event Category:

A Postcard from the Homeland ist eine bahnbrechende Ausstellung, die eine zeitgenössische Perspektive auf die irische Kultur durch die Augen des Fotografen Enda Burke bietet. Die von Jane Gleeson kuratierte und in Auftrag gegebene Ausstellung befasst sich mit drei Schlüsselthemen: Intimität, Gemeinsamkeit und kulturelle Identität und zeigt ein sich entwickelndes Irland durch die Brille von Kunst und Essen.

Diese neue Ausstellung nähert sich dem Thema der Liebe auf skurrile Weise. Sie zeigt fantasievolle Kulissen, die als Leinwand für die augenzwinkernden fotografischen Erzählungen von Enda Burke dienen. In dieser Serie porträtiert der Künstler geliebte Menschen in spielerischen Szenarien, die die Intimität und Verletzlichkeit der Liebe anschaulich vermitteln.

Die Welt der künstlerischen Food-Fotografie hat sich über die reine Nahrungsaufnahme hinaus entwickelt und steht heute für Kultur, Kreativität und sich entwickelnde menschliche Verhaltensweisen.

Während das Teilen von Essensfotos auf Social-Media-Plattformen zu einem integralen Bestandteil unserer kollektiven Essenserfahrung geworden ist, regt es zum Nachdenken über eine Gesellschaft an, die jenseits des gegenwärtigen Moments in der digitalen Sphäre lebt. A Postcard from the Homeland lädt dazu ein, das tiefgreifende Zusammenspiel zwischen Intimität und Annehmlichkeit neu zu entdecken, indem es sich von romantischen Verbindungen mit der Liebe abwendet.

Enda Burke entwirft skurrile Kulissen, die als Leinwand für seine augenzwinkernden fotografischen Erzählungen dienen. Mit seiner Vorliebe für Nostalgie, leuchtende Farben, subtile Ironie und alles, was mit Kitsch zu tun hat, hat sein künstlerisches Schaffen weltweit Anerkennung gefunden und zierte u. a. die Seiten von The Guardian, Rolling Stone und The Observer. Seine Arbeiten kamen in die engere Auswahl für die Sony World Photo Awards und den Zurich Portrait Award in der National Gallery of Ireland und wurden in die Saatchi Art Visions of the Future NFT und die Print-Auktion aufgenommen.

Guzzle ist eine jährlich erscheinende Print-Publikation, die Geschichten aus dem Bereich der kreativen Sachliteratur durch die Brille der kulinarischen und visuellen Kultur präsentiert. Das Thema Essen zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch die Inhalte der Beitragenden und ermöglicht es ihnen, mit den Leser*innen in Kontakt zu treten.

Backhaus Projects ist ein von der Gemeinschaft geführter kreativer Raum für alle Altersgruppen und Hintergründe. Die Veranstaltungen sind eine Mischung aus Eigenprogrammierung durch das Backhaus-Team und Beiträgen aus der Community.

Eventlocation

Backhaus Projects
Weserstr. 168
12045 Berlin

Ticket- oder Event-Webseite

Skip to main content

Discover the Events

Loading Events

« All Events

A Postcard From The Homeland

A Postcard from the Homeland is a landmark exhibition that provides a contemporary perspective on Irish culture through the lens of photographer Enda Burke

9 May - 15 May

Berlin

Event Category:
Photo by Enda Burke

Photo by Enda Burke

A Postcard from the Homeland is a landmark exhibition that provides a contemporary perspective on Irish culture through the eyes of photographer Enda Burke. Curated and commissioned by Jane Gleeson, this exhibition delves into three key themes: intimacy, commensality, and cultural identity, showcasing an evolving Ireland through the lenses of art and food.

This new exhibition takes a whimsical approach to the theme of love. It features imaginative sets that serve as a canvas for Enda Burke’s tongue-in-cheek photographic narratives. Within these series, the artist portrays loved ones in playful scenarios that vividly convey the intimacy and vulnerabilities associated with love.

The world of fine art food photography has transcended mere sustenance; it now represents culture, creativity, and evolving human behaviours. While sharing food photos on social media platforms has become an integral part of our collective dining experience, it prompts reflection on a society that lives beyond the present moment in the digital sphere.

The act of sharing food serves as a powerful non-verbal expression, signalling and strengthening emotional bonds while creating moments of commensality. This connection between food and love is deeply embedded in the social fabric of human connections but is gradually slipping away. A Postcard from the Homeland invites you to rediscover the profound interplay between intimacy and commensality by veering away from romantic affiliations with love.

Enda Burke crafts whimsical sets that act as a canvas for his tongue-in-cheek photographic narratives. With a penchant for nostalgia, vibrant palettes, subtle irony, and all things kitsch, his artistic endeavours have garnered global acclaim, gracing the pages of The Guardian, Rolling Stone, and The Observer, to name a few. His body of work has been shortlisted in the Sony World Photo Awards and the Zurich Portrait Award at the National Gallery of Ireland, and included in the Saatchi Art Visions of the Future NFT and print auction.

Guzzle is an annual print publication that presents stories of creative non-fiction through the lenses of culinary and visual culture. The topic of food acts as a common thread between our contributors and enables them to engage with our readers. Each issue is created in response to a theme with issue one focusing on ‘nostalgia’ and issue two focusing on ‘love’. The themes provide a way for us to curate the publication and any related auxiliary events. From the very beginning, Guzzle has been perceived as a source of connection; connecting writers with readers, chefs and diners.

Backhaus Projects is a community-led creative hire space for all ages and backgrounds. The events are a mix of self-programming from the team at Backhaus and submissions from within the community. It is a space for all ideas big and small. The team hosts everything from screenings to workshops, talks to pop-up shops, and more.

Venue

Backhaus Projects
Weserstr. 168
12045 Berlin

Ticket or event website